Thomas Jefferson Wins League Wrestling Title

Categories: High School
TJ Wrestling League Champs 2017-2018

The Spartans of Thomas were crowned as DPS League Wrestling Champions over the weekend, taking home the team title by 9.5 points overall. Individually Thomas Jefferson took home three titles, which highlighted a complete team effort by the Spartans. At 106 lbs Bobby Macias defeated Armando Garcia of Denver East in a statement match for Thomas Jefferson. Thomas Jefferson was also able to take home an individual title at 126 lbs, where Isaias Estrada defeated Guillermo Cardenas of Denver South. At 182 lbs Sam Cole gave the Spartans their third and final individual title on the day with a win over Jovani Gurule of Abraham Lincoln. In the 138 lb Division Sirr Coleman of the Far Northeast was able to pin Adrian Avitia of Abraham Lincoln to capture the first individual title on the day for the Warriors. Max Daniels of Denver South won the 113 lb Division with a highlight filled match against Boalong Duong of John F. Kennedy.  At 120 lbs, Jose Cerda of Denver East would bring an individual title home for the Angels with a pin of Edwin Coronel of Denver South in the Final.

The match of the day was at 132 lbs and featured two of the top wrestlers in the district. Anthony Martinez of Denver East and Elijah Grostette of Abraham Lincoln squared off in an epic match that went the distance. Grostette gave it everything he had, but in the end Martinez was able to secure a City Title with a 4-3 decision in the final. Martinez now looks ahead as he tries to win a 5A State Title for the Angels. It all starts this weekend with the 5A Regional at Adams City High School on February 9th and 10th.

At 145 lbs, Luis Garcia of George Washington used beautiful technique on Edgar Estrada of Abraham Lincoln to secure the City Title for promising young Patriot student athlete. In the 152 lb division, John F. Kennedy’s Joe Finn defeated Andrew Rosales of Abraham Lincoln to win the City Title.  Another outstanding match was at 285 lbs, where Chris Felan of Abraham Lincoln was able to pin Max Tafoya of Denver North to secure the Individual Title.

Roberto Lopez of Denver South was crowned Champion at 220 lbs with a win over Ahmed Khattab of Thomas Jefferson.  Brian Urbina of Abraham Lincoln would claim the 195 lb Title with a win over Daniel Serrato of Denver North.  Julian Herrera of John F. Kennedy would win a second individual City Title for the Commanders at 160 lbs with a win over Adam Escobedo of the Far Northeast.  At 170 lbs, Ruben Agosto of Denver North would win a City Title of his own, defeating Oswaldo Coronel of Denver South in the Final.

Congratulations to all wrestlers on an outstanding season. To view a more detailed report on the League Meet follow the link below.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  2018 Denver Public Schools League Wrestling Championship